The Mustard Seed Foundation

Harvey Fellows Program

In 2019 the Foundation invested \$316,000 in support of 32 graduate students preparing to enter strategic vocations in academia, the arts, and the marketplace. We were privileged to award 9 new fellowships to an extraordinary group of graduate students from around the world.

The Mustard Seed Foundation initiated the Harvey Fellows Program in 1992 to mark, equip, and encourage followers of Jesus Christ who seek to actively integrate their faith and vocations as leaders in strategic occupations where Christians appear to be underrepresented. This idea grew from our understanding of God as Creator and Redeemer, not only of human beings, but also of society's disciplines and structures. Our desire is to identify, prepare, and celebrate this generation's Josephs, Lydias, Daniels, and Esthers—Christians who will assume positions of leadership and influence in society. The Harvey Fellowship is a stipend of \$16,000 that may be renewed for up to two additional years. The award is given to outstanding students enrolled at a premier graduate degree program and is therefore very competitive. Harvey Fellows typically attend schools considered by professionals to be among the top five globally in a given subject area or specialty.

2019 Harvey Fellows

Daniel Ang PhD – Physics Harvard University

Lucas Wittman MPH – Public Health Harvard University

Krystal Smith PhD – Education Stanford University Brooke Wages
MBA – Business & Gov.
Harvard University

Amy Wang PhD – Finance Stanford University

Jessina Leonard MFA – Photography Rhode Island School of

Design

Reginald Smith MBA – Finance Harvard University

Desmond Sheehan PhD – Music History/Lit. UC Berkeley

Matthew Williams

MFA – Theater Directing

CUNY

2019 Harvey Fellows Advisory Board

The Harvey Fellows Advisory Board is comprised of elected Fellows who help guide and provide vision for the program, as well as encourage the network of Harvey Fellows. The following Fellows served on the Advisory Board in 2019:

Kim Gilmer (1993Fellow) Communications Chair

JD – International Law, Stanford University

Kristen Gustavson (2004Fellow) Development Chair

PhD - Social Welfare Policy, UC Berkeley

Bruce Huber (2007 Fellow) Secretary-Treasurer

PhD – Political Science, UC Berkeley

Laurena Ketzel Kerber (1994Fellow)

Chair

MBA-New York University

David Kurz (2016 Fellow)

Vice-Chair

PhD Candidate – Environmental Science, UC Berkeley

Mary Carol Mazza (2008Fellow)

Mentor Chair

PhD-Organizational Behavior, Harvard Business School & Harvard Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Daisy Ogembo (2016 Fellow)

Prayer Chair

DPhil – Law, University of Oxford

Oyebola Okunogbe (2011Fellow)

Events Chair

PhD – Public Policy/Development Economics, Harvard University