Harvey Fellows Program

In 2020 the Foundation invested $275,000 in support of 28 graduate students preparing to enter strategic vocations in academia, the arts, and the marketplace. We were privileged to award 9 new fellowships to an extraordinary group of graduate students from around the world.

The Mustard Seed Foundation initiated the Harvey Fellows Program in 1992 to mark, equip, and encourage followers of Jesus Christ who seek to actively integrate their faith and vocations as leaders in strategic occupations where Christians appear to be underrepresented. This idea grew from our understanding of God as Creator and Redeemer, not only of human beings, but also of society's disciplines and structures. Our desire is to identify, prepare, and celebrate this generation's Josephs, Lydias, Daniels, and Esthers - Christians who will assume positions of leadership and influence in society. The Harvey Fellowship is a stipend of $16,000 that may be renewed for up to two additional years. The award is given to outstanding students enrolled at a premier graduate degree program and is therefore very competitive. Harvey Fellows typically attend schools considered by professionals to be among the top five globally in a given subject area or specialty.

2020 Harvey Fellows

Frederick Brooks
PhD - Chemistry
Harvard University

Paula Brooks
PhD - Neuroscience
Princeton University

Gregory Deddo
MFA - Visual Arts
Rhode Island School of Design

Matthew Denney
PhD - Political Science
Yale University

Whitney Fowler
PhD - Molecular Engineering
University of Chicago

Christian Espinosa Schatz
PhD - Anthropology & Environmental Studies
Yale University

Aaron Holmes
MFA - Animation
California Institute of the Arts

Lidia Kuo
PhD - Materials Science & Engineering
Northwestern University

Benjamin Lowe
PhD - Biology
University of Florida

Charis Idicheria Nogossek
PhD - Sociology
University of Cambridge